a sneak peek at the work station

I thought this reading I was doing was a good opportunity for a catch up. I asked whether I'll make it to the end of the year with this no-/low-buy depth project, and while the cards don't speak of calamity and complete breakdown, they illustrate a series of ups and downs throughout the months.

A spread of eight playing cards - first column is the four of spades and the six of hearts, second column - two of clubs and jack of diamonds, third column - five of spades and two of hearts, fourth column - two of spades and five of hearts. Above the spread is an oracle card showing two nude people embracing

I got the feeling to pull two rows of four cards and it seems they're illustrating the year's quarters.

To tie it all off in a bow I pulled a general theme card from my handmade found art oracle and got two people tenderly embracing while standing in the sea. I think it's telling me to follow the flow and tone set by the first quarter, where I learned to be more emotionally nurturing towards myself. A year-long challenge of this sort will surely provide plenty opportunities to practice self-compassion and learn even more about my inner workings.


Aside from that little column two summary – very active in my sketchbook in the last two weeks – I don't have that much to report. I barely ever open tumblr anymore. I watch art videos, studio vlogs, sketchbook tours etc as a backdrop for my own activities. There's some gardening.

I've had a tiny bit of a health thing that kind of dampened my youthful, Spring momentum, and I haven't been spending as much time with the Playful Heart tarot as I'd hoped. Especially since the creativity moved from the deck's study journal into a sketchbook, but maybe I can alternate them a bit. I'm sure I'll return to the inner child fun when I'm back on my feet, traipsing through the forest and such.

Hope everyone is having a good start to the Spring months. Keep going with your goals and resolutions!