new tarot selection

I don't know why it's taking me so long to write this post. I have two drafts of it already and the words aren't working, maybe I'm just tired. So here goes a less than perfect attempt -

I tried to identify what's most bugging me about the tarot decks that I own. Most aggravatingly: how many of them rely on gimmicks, instead of a solid structure, a foundation in any of the tarot systems. Most pervasively: how racist they are, all-white fantasy worlds, inaccurate to my surroundings and experiences, silently whispering about white supremacy and what's “normal” and “universal”. I'm also gravely disappointed at how cisheteronormative most major publishing houses make their decks, and how inaccessible indie decks with a more conscious and diverse approach are. It seems you have to be either located in the US, or be willing and able to spend four or five times as much on a deck to handle the shipping, customs, and other fees.

I can't do much about the lack of queerness in my collection without violating the basic tenet of my depth year project, but I can fix the other issues, and so I narrowed my options for this year down to the following eighteen positions:

Deep decks:

Classic decks (all of these are RWS-based and have potential):

Gimmicky but I'm giving them a chance:

Problematic faves:

I also have out the Alchemical Visions Tarot but solely for it's chunky jungian guidebook. I don't intend to work with these cards, at least not for readings, as they are almost A5 in size. I enjoy jungian methods of working with the self, but I'm still not sold on archetypes and other aspects of his philosophy. I'm curious to see if this book feels more like potent bullshit, or repulsive bullshit.

I think once the depth year is over and I re-introduce purchasing I'll be more selective in what enters my collection. It's better to have one thought out deck I know won't bug me and I'll use a lot, even if it's more expensive and a pain to acquire, than five shiny gimmicky decks that I'll use twice and decide weren't worth their already cheap price. I need to remember to bring my values to the forefront when considering a purchase, and not get distracted by a cool theme or gorgeous aesthetics slapped onto something empty or slightly rotten.