onto week 2

Phew. An update on current projects and general depth year progress so far. After pushing the Tarot de Luz keyword journal to the finish line I became a little too attached to the idea of completing projects. What can I say, it felt good to see the progress, I wanted that for all my little goals. But after a few stressful and/or busy days I realized these projects are a refuge, not another to do list. The goal is incidental, the process is what I signed up for. These are ideas and options for spending time in a way that's meaningful and valuable to me, when I'm tired of scrolling through social media and refreshing the same browser tabs over and over. So I'm letting them merge and flow and recede, whatever feels good.

Continuing studying the Tarot de Luz, this time in practice. Armed with my personalized book of meanings, I've started a digital series of self-care readings. The last few days have been conducive to this sort of focus. It's not something to do daily or often, so it's just something in my back pocket, to pull out when the need arises.

I'm also just generally fooling around with it, but I won't be recording every single thing. I'm enjoying its “voice”, so to speak. So far the messages have been very insightful, but gentle. Kind of taking me by the hand and pointing at how various strands of thoughts and various experiences connect to each other. Even when it's calling me out, it's kind of tongue-in-cheek and fond-sounding. Usually you hear about cute decks being ruthless and dark decks being gentle, but here's one played straight I guess!

I've also spontaneously made a little crochet pouch for it when I felt I needed an easy win, but I'm not liking it. I made it a smoky blue to match the general palette of the images, but that brings it down too much. I don't have a pink to match the backs, but maybe I could try again with a yellow, there's some sunshiny yellow in the images as well...

Moving forward with the Tarot Z crafty journal. It has many elements, and I decided I'll prepare and use the actual book-like part of it for a play-through of Anamnesis, a journaling game that uses tarot for its prompts. I'll either need a few plays to fill it up, or I'll switch to some other (non-tarot) journaling games, there are many out there themed around a post-apocalyptic world. I don't know what the next step for the cards themselves will be just yet.

Made a lot of progress on the second tarot reading cloth, and realized I over-estimated its completion status previously. I knit furiously for a few days, watching Queer Eye season 6, but my tendons can't take any more for now. Not sure if I want to do a few more marathons, because I like to see solid progress and knitting is so slow, or just do a few rows here and there consistently. Meh.

I've somewhat retired the busy hands journal for now – need the desk for Tarot Z journaling, it's a big folder – and more-than-somewhat retired the New Tarot Handbook read-through. I haven't gone very far in yet, so I think I'll restart it once I pick a more-traditionally RWS-aligned deck to work with, and I don't want to do that just yet in case it'll draw my focus away from the two decks I do have out for study.

Of course with all the real-life hullabaloo I completely forgot about saving my art off the iPad – that's definitely not one I'll be doing for the enjoyable process of it, but I would like to get it done this month. That might be a more realistic goal than cramming it all in one week.