I turn 50 this year and I told my wife, that there is only one crazy gadget on my wishlist: the Freewrite typewriter.

I know, this is an absolute hipster writing tool, too expensive at all, but I fell in love, since I met the idea for the first time.

I am looking for a distraction free writing tool, since I droped my old electric typewriter from the early 90s. First I was fascinated by the possibilities, a personal computer offers, but the more this machines were able to do, the more I lost my focus in my daily work.

I am a professional writing person. I worked as a journalist and now find myself in corporate communications. I have always to write a lot, and I (enjoy and) hate to be interrupted by e-mails, text messages, chats, breaking news or even phone calls. Smartphones didn't improve the situation, neither did social networks.

So I tried different ways to re-focus and getting back into my flow. I tried handwriting (which worked well for specific types of text). I used distraction free Apps like WriteRoom or iaWriter. And I bought a fully functionable 22 years old Alphasmart 3000, which I can use as well as an external keyboard for my iPhone and other devices.

The Alphasmart worked best for me so far, because it brought back this feeling of writing a text line by line.

I heard and read a lot about the extraordinary keyboard feeling, the Freewrite brings back, and yeah I am curious, if it would work even better for me. Nearly 600 euros is way too much for me to spend for such a device, but if someone comes around and would give it to me as I gift, I wouldn't say No.

#distractionfreewriting #writing #tools

Any thoughts so far? Discuss...