2019-04-24

I think some part of what took me so long to figure out that I'm trans is that I don't want to be the stereotypical female ideal. You know, the one they sell on all the images and ads. Glossy red lips, tall, “perfect”, dressed for success. I don't want to be that. I mean I'd rather be that than be male any day but it looks so boring, so normal.

There are so many more amazing feminine styles that I'd rather look like. But society never sold women on trying to be those. You should be perfect, and any deviation is merely acceptable at best. Of course I, as a person, was also grossly misinformed about this stuff. I didn't think that I could just not be something. Part of why my childhood was so tame, I tried to play by the rules. Maybe that's why I have such a large backlash now that I know you can break rules.