RFC-130

by Darius Kazemi, May 10 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

Waiting on Telnet

RFC-130 is titled “Response to RFC #111 (Pressure from the Chairman)”. It's authored by John Heafner of RAND and dated April 22nd, 1971.

The technical content

This is a response to Steve Crocker's RFC-111, which I referred to as “an ultimatum”. In that RFC, John Heafner of RAND was given the duty of project manager to check in on how each site is progressing towards a full implementation of the new Host-Host Protocol. This was about 3 weeks prior to this RFC. Heafner is the author of this RFC.

Heafner says he can't really do this job until TELNET is finished. Once TELNET is done (as in, once there is a full specification in an RFC), then he will commence coordinating tests of the new protocol with remote sites.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm an independent technologist and artist. I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with both ActivityPub and the Dat Project. You can support my work via my Patreon.