RFC-208

by Darius Kazemi, July 27 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

Addresses from the future

RFC-208 is titled “Address Tables”. It's authored by Alex McKenzie of BBN, and dated August 9th, 1971.

The technical content

This RFC is a revision to BBN Report No. 1822, which I am still annoyingly unable to find an early version of. This contains a list of sites and their host numbers. We saw one of these lists recently in RFC-206, but this one is notable because it contains host numbers for sites that will not be on the ARPANET for another six months, including several US Air Force bases.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm an independent technologist and artist. I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with ActivityPub, including a Node.js reference implementation, an RSS-to-ActivityPub converter, and a fork of Mastodon, called Hometown. You can support my work via my Patreon.