RFC-251

by Darius Kazemi, September 8 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

Weather data

RFC-251 is titled “Weather Data”. It's authored by Dale H. Stern of Computer Corporation of America, and dated October 13, 1971.

The technical content

This RFC informs the Network Working Group that the Datacomputer at Computer Corporation of America will be providing weather data from the United States Air Force Environmental Technical Applications Center. It's ten years of detailed surface and upper atmosphere weather data from around the world. It seems like this is going to be the first large, real-world data set provided to the network by the Datacomputer.

Further reading

The author, Dale Stern, was one of the principles behind the Datacomputer project at Computer Corporation of America. Here's a 1975 report authored by CCA on the Datacomputer which includes a paper by Stern and Thomas Marill in Appendix 1.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm an independent technologist and artist. I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with ActivityPub, including a Node.js reference implementation, an RSS-to-ActivityPub converter, and a fork of Mastodon, called Hometown. You can support my work via my Patreon.