RFC-267

by Darius Kazemi, September 24 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

A new PDP-10 appears

RFC-267 is titled “Network Host Status”. It's authored by Ellen Westheimer of BBN and dated November 22, 1971.

The technical content

This is another report from BBN on the status of various ARPANET hosts in the same series as RFC-266, RFC-255, RFC-252, RFC-235, and RFC-240.

The numbers this time, from November 8 to November 19:

Analysis

The percentage of open connections has gone down a bit from 41.6% to 36%, but they have also added measurements from a new PDP-10 at Stanford which is mostly offline. Removing that from the data set so we can compare apples to apples, things look less dire at 39% open.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm an independent technologist and artist. I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with ActivityPub, including a Node.js reference implementation, an RSS-to-ActivityPub converter, and a fork of Mastodon, called Hometown. You can support my work via my Patreon.