RFC-268

by Darius Kazemi, September 25 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

Requesting handbook information

RFC-268 is titled “Graphics Facilities Information”. It's authored by Jon Postel of UCLA and dated November 24, 1971.

The technical content

During the recent Network Graphics group meeting at the Stanford Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, people suggested that the Resource Notebook (a handbook distibuted to ARPANET users) contain information about the graphics capabilities of each host site.

Postel asks that each site send him this information so that he can include it via the “normal editorial procedures”.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm an independent technologist and artist. I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with ActivityPub, including a Node.js reference implementation, an RSS-to-ActivityPub converter, and a fork of Mastodon, called Hometown. You can support my work via my Patreon.