RFC-325

by Darius Kazemi, November 21 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

An RJS client at Utah

RFC-325 is titled “Network Remote Job Entry Program – NETRJS”. It's authored by first-time RFC author Gregory Hicks of the University of Utah and dated April 6, 1972.

The technical content

The UTAH site was running computations that significantly reduced performance for local users while they were running, so they decided to take advantage of the UCLA Remote Job Service and send them all the computing tasks, freeing up resources for their local users. This RFC describes NETRJS, their own client for connecting to RJS at UCLA.

NETRJS is a modification of a TELNET client written by Ray Tomlinson.

This RFC includes a sample user session transcript—I always recommend reading those if you're a programmer as it's helpful to get a sense of what actually interacting with the software is like.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm an independent technologist and artist. I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with ActivityPub, including a Node.js reference implementation, an RSS-to-ActivityPub converter, and a fork of Mastodon, called Hometown. You can support my work via my Patreon.