RFC-336

by Darius Kazemi, December 2 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

Level 0 graphics input

RFC-336 is titled “Level 0 Graphic Input Protocol”. It's authored by Ira Cotton of MITRE and dated May 5, 1972.

The technical content

This document describes a “level 0” graphics input protocol, which was defined in RFC-282 at a November 1971 Network Graphics Working Group Meeting as the simplest possible useful implementation of graphics features: mainly, simple picture drawing. The group did not define what level 0 means for graphics input, but the Graphics Group is taking a crack at it. This RFC summarizes their consensus following an April 1972 meeting of the Graphics Group, offering up text and simple position as the two types of input data.

Text input will be network ASCII encoded. Position will be encoded as twos-complement signed fractions of the virtual screen, as I previously described in my post on RFC-292 and as defined in RFC-282.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm an independent technologist and artist. I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with ActivityPub, including a Node.js reference implementation, an RSS-to-ActivityPub converter, and a fork of Mastodon, called Hometown. You can support my work via my Patreon.