RFC-69

by Darius Kazemi, March 10 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

Please unsubscribe

RFC-69 is “Distribution List Change for M.I.T.” It is authored by Abhay Bhusan on September 22nd, 1970.

The technical content

Please delete my name from your distribution list and add that of Mr. Albert Vezza.

Analysis

Recall that the RFC series is an academic mailing list, but before email existed. This is all done via the postal service. I think what we have here is literally the first instance of an internet person doing a reply-all saying “please remove me from your list”.

Nice.

Further reading

Dave Walden interviewed Albert Vezza in 2012.

Abhay Bhusan invented FTP, which was published as RFC-114 and we will get to in another 45 days.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm a Mozilla Fellow and I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with both ActivityPub and the Dat Project.