RFC-79

by Darius Kazemi, March 20 2019

In 2019 I'm reading one RFC a day in chronological order starting from the very first one. More on this project here. There is a table of contents for all my RFC posts.

A conflict

RFC-79 is titled “Logger Protocol Error”. It's by Edwin W. Meyer of Project MAC at MIT. It's dated November 16, 1970.

The technical content

This is a notice of a conflict between RFC-66 and “Protocol Document 1”, which I believe is RFC-54 or some revision thereof.

Basically, in RFC-54 it says that a memory/buffer allocation command can only be sent once a connection is fully established. RFC-66 wants an allocation command send right after a connection request is made, which is before a connection is fully established. This RFC tells people that they can ignore RFC-66 in this case, because this doesn't agree with the NCP protocol and the NCP is on kind of a code freeze right now.

How to follow this blog

You can subscribe to this blog's RSS feed or if you're on a federated ActivityPub social network like Mastodon or Pleroma you can search for the user “@365-rfcs@write.as” and follow it there.

About me

I'm Darius Kazemi. I'm a Mozilla Fellow and I do a lot of work on the decentralized web with both ActivityPub and the Dat Project.