Obligatory intro post…

So here I am, sitting close to the penultimate year of my forties, and I’ve finally decided to seek help and a diagnosis for what is absolutely a lifelong, (give or take a few years,) struggle with ADHD.

As long as I can remember, I’ve know that I think differently than others. That’s often left me as an outsider.

It’s only become clear to me that I have ADHD within the last 10 years or so, and it’s only recently that I’ve decided to seek help.

I’ve had an initial consultation with a psychiatrist, and now am at the point where I need to book an assessment.

I joked with a manager at work several years ago that if I’d been tested for ADHD at school, I would have been diagnosed, and it was this comment that started me down this road to diagnosis.

Due to exhaustion stemming from ADHD and other issues, I now only work part-time, and even this is overwhelming sometimes.

Anyway, I’m British, male, cishet, late forties, a husband and father, and I work in IT.

And I most definitely have ADHD.

Hopefully the rest of this blog will be funnier.