Black Rose, Gray Skies

[Intro] Black rose, thorns sharp and trapped inside a clear vessel Petals falling, won't you please come and save this wilting weed Slower still, it's a tragic, but slow death inside the glass cage Seasons change, nights fade and dissipate into similar shades of gray

[Chorus] On the windowsill, perched and perfectly still I can see the brightest stars in the sky Yes, the wind is still, make a wish, if you will And I will too in hopes that time goes by

[Verse 1] This is Not a cry for help, I don't need my princess Belle I just want to truly be set free I am Trapped in this case, though it's safe, I'm afraid Will I be the rose I see inside? You can Find me up here, perched and perfectly still Kicked my feet and staring up so high Black rose Prick me again, make me bleed, little friend Oh, if only I weren't in my mind

[Chorus] On the windowsill, perched and perfectly still I can see the brightest stars in the sky Yes, the wind is still, make a wish, if you will And I will too in hopes that time goes by

[Verse 2] I don't Want to be afraid, there's much progress I have made And I'm only getting further, still I am Trapped inside my cage, don't see a way I can escape A cognitive prison, against my will Looking down Will never help, I see my death, my biggest doubts A fall that's deep enough that it would kill So I Keep my head held high, looking up into the sky As the petals wilt onto the 'sill

[Chorus] On the windowsill, perched and perfectly still I can see the brightest stars in the sky Yes, the wind is still, make a wish, if you will And I will too in hopes that time goes by

[Epilogue] I look down at the black rose, the vessel is as glossy and beautiful as the treasure it contains The stars in the sky look down at me and smile, and I can feel their warm glow from here If I could be that rose, take it outside its cell and transfuse its radiant beauty I am a dreamer in the hopes that one day the vessel shatters and I too will be set free A rose like no other, with thorns trimmed, and petals full as it blooms in the new morning Sun