Foxes Are Predators

I used to think about the monsters underneath my bed Hiding in the darkness, now they're stuck inside my head Why does everything I write feel like a call for help? Reaching out and seeing that no one knows how to tell

I've become the predator The arrow on your hearts Flailing wildly, spewing toxins That's the hardest part I'm no hunter, I don't bite, I think you might agree Lately I've been seeing there's a deeper side of me

Used to think about the many friendships I had held Keeping people close, wondering if they kept me as well Why does my destructive cycle keep on catching me? Pushing them away and watching how they distance me

I've become the predator The arrow on your hearts Flailing wildly, spewing toxins That's the hardest part I'm no hunter, I don't bite, I think you might agree Lately I've been seeing there's a deeper side of me

Lately I've been seeing there's a deeper side of me Come on, see me closer, and I think you might agree Look into my spiraling and thinking well of me Promise that I'll hurt you, but don't misunderstand me

I don't want to be villainous or toxic at my core I really wish that I could just stop hurting anymore I don't know how to fix this, but I'm trying all my tricks I cannot keep on hurting people, 'cus it makes me sick

I need you to believe me because sometimes I can't see it So please look a little closer and I promise I will be a bit More kind and empathetic and the person that you wanna be Friends with, and maybe partners, maybe that's a little private see I can't tell if I'm spiraling right now my thoughts keep flowing And I don't know if you ever will quite know just what I'm knowing Yeah, so let me finish writing and I'll get back to conspiring How I'll be a better predator for you