She's Not Who She Used To Be

She looks in the mirror and likes what she sees It's obvious she's not who she used to be Thought she had her life found out by 14 But isn't it easy to think that, it seems Thinking it's over just ain't quite her style “Running, I'm running” she said for a while Run from her problems, run from mistakes Run because she doesn't understand things

She's not a model, she's not a queen Stressed and depressed, she would look up and scream Running in circles, she said she was fine “It'll always be this way” she said with a sigh That's just who she is, and it won't ever change She felt like she'd always be looked at as strange Hiding her gender, hiding her heart Keeping it secret's the easiest part

“I'm fed up, I'm stuck, and I've had enough” She wanted a change, she knew it'd be tough She took a deep breath and decided to try She quit her job, outed herself, and then cried There's no point in trying to live a big lie There's no point in not even trying to try She talked to some friends and she knew what to do “I'll fight for myself, cus it's long overdue”

She looks in the mirror and likes what she sees It's obvious she's not who she used to be The sad, lonely teenager just wanting friends The stressed, upset college kid hiding her dread “I know I'm a girl, and I see it right now” Things line up neatly, and clearer, somehow That's my big story, that's who you see I'm glad that I'm not who I used to be