day twelve

Train of Thought

“H-h-hey it's me I, uh, just got off the train Buy another ticket?” The panic is coming on strong, “How a-a-are you?” So strong only in my head. “Can-n we talk? ,” Wasn't that hard.

“Didn-nt want to bother you But some-something's been b-b-bothering me.” Performed as rehearsed.

Your eyes crinkle in the dusk, Your forehead wrinkles, Head droops in sorrow, As you rub your temples, And your eyes water in love. Expressed as experienced.

“No, it-it's no big deal” It is a big deal. To me. “L-let's just hit the bar, yes.” Nobody really cares. “Yup, I'll be-I'll be fine.” I won't.

My eyes crinkle in the soft night, My forehead wrinkles, Head droops in sorrow, But my eyes water in broken love. Where are you when I need you?

“Y-you're fine, aren-n't you? How could you not be?” I don't care anymore. “You-you-you” Why is this so hard? “You never cared for me, d-did you?” I throw a poisonous dart into your heart.

I could feel your heart crack and splinter, Before I saw your face aghast, Your eyes wide and arms flailing. You who didn't care for me? Then I noticed the stars didn't seem to align, Something was amiss- You had a hole in your heart too.

“Is-is it about your m-m-mother?” Don't nod. Please don't.

You nod slowly. The medication didn't work. You're orphaned and left alone, And 'all I wanted' was your helping hand.

“I'm so-sorry, I di-didn't know” How could I have known? “I didn-dn't mean to” God, what have I done? “We'll g-get though this. I pr-promise.” Just don't return the venom. Don't. Please don't.

And you say, “You never cared for me, d-did you? Never even bothered to ask”, Returning the venom.

And our hearts crack and splinter, As we silently scream, Our eyes wide and arms flailing, Who will pull out these arrows in our hearts? Where were we when we needed us?

#100DaysToOffload #NotAPoet