I almost fell into a pit.

While walking the streets, I found myself in quite an out-of-body experience. I felt that I fell into an actual manhole (heh heh, manhole...) that was not closed very tightly. It was not so bad as only one of my legs fell and the manhole cover flipped by roughly 80 degrees. Thank God my balls were safe. A couple of bystanders were unconcerned but two people who passed me helped me out.

The funny thing was that this manhole was around the quasi-residential/commercial complex I lived in before. So I knew where to find the guard and let this person know that this is quite a hazard. Of course, I did not know what manhole was in Chinese (though tempted to translate literally). The guard commented that some children are intentionally removing the manhole cover and letting the hole be slightly covered. This surprised me because a manhole cover is quite heavy! This guard really did not know what the fuck he was talking about. Of course, I asked how that is possible but the guard, like any old fart, just goes on saying the same thing and talking to the wind.

I wonder if someone else who almost fell into that same manhole will actually let someone else know about the danger. I was very much affected by a law course I took as an undergraduate. This law course is called obligations and contracts. I was mostly affected by how our actions have effects on others and could have compensating effects when it comes to determining damages. This law course was mostly about a civil code inherited from the Spaniards ( as I recall). I felt that notifying the guard releases me from potential liability and that I have done my due diligence to ensure that I will not be at fault. Although I can take comfort in this, I am worried about the next person that is going to fall into that hole.

That's it for today. A colleague of mine pointed out that I may have been chastised for blogging (I have had some harsh words to say). I had something prepared but felt that the urgency of this manhole event trumps whatever I prepared. So, I hope you enjoyed reading this entry. I will try to write more regularly. Somehow the new normal here in China is exactly the old normal.