I finally listened to the latest Lana Del Rey album NFR. I am too late to the party as this is really the first time I have actually heard Lana Del Rey's music rather than just the name. I stopped listening to the latest music ever since my first exposure to MTV Classic when cable started becoming popular in the mid-90s. Ever since then I was stuck in the 80s and usually followed the same artists I liked if they made music after the 80s.

Lana Del Rey's album is a well-designed album. I think the album sounds like a highly polished job market paper. But I am not sure if it is sufficiently creative. I think my hearing and taste may be partly to blame. Somehow, the album tends to feel a bit repetitive in some of its themes of nostalgia, love lost, challenges faced, and defeats encountered. The overall tone is quite hopeful despite some darkness in the lyrics. With respect to the darkness aspect, I feel that sometimes darkness arises from two contrasting sources: either someone has pushed the limits to achieve the best outcome yet fails or someone cannot achieve the best outcome simply because they keep repeating mistakes. (Actually, I scribbled down something more profound but it got lost in my shit handwriting.) I think Lana Del Rey's current album belongs more to the former type of darkness, especially given the hopefulness spread out in the tunes.

When I reached the fifth or sixth track of the album, I started to hear Tori Amos. If you don't know Tori Amos, I suggest Cornflake Girl (look it up, the MTV Unplugged version either on video or audio only). If you want a caricature, then look up Oil Spill (a song from Bob's Burgers featuring Megan Mullally on vocals; you might know her as Karen from Will and Grace). If you are willing to give Tori Amos a chance, you will realize a rawer voice than Lana Del Rey.

I listened to the album in one go (but was unable to stream Tracks 3, 8, and 12 at China's streaming service called NetEase). I was able to squeeze in some time to listen to it partially. Not all songs have replay value but I think the album can be placed on loop as good background music conducive for discussion and working. But the more powerful tracks require more attention. I think Fuck it I love you, ​hope is a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have – but i have it, California, and Doin' Time deserve your attention. The opening track is an excellent track for people unacquainted with her music.

I have yet to see whether I will actually play the album again in the future. I think a look-back review is important in that respect. My first time listening to Lorde (I kept hearing Royals but did not know it was hers.) completely was through her second album Melodrama. This was 2017 I think. It is an excellent album which I think outperforms NFR. But I may be unfair. If you ever have the time, listen to the album as it has more range and a broader range of themes, all of which demand attention. I would recommend Homemade Dynamite (which gave me the chills somehow, I do not know why), Liability, and Liability (Reprise).

Funnily enough, I noticed that both albums had Jack Antonoff involved. I do not know the guy at all but I guess people should be noticing.