The National – You were a kindness

I was in a fog, I didn't notice everything Was coming all apart inside of me There wasn't anyway for anyone to settle in You made a slow disaster out of me There's a radiant darkness upon us I don't want you to worry I was careful but nothing is harmless Baby, you better hurry

You were a kindness when I was a stranger But I wouldn't ask for what I didn't need Everything's weird and we're always in danger Why would you shatter somebody like me?

It doesn't work that way Wanting not to want you won't make it so It doesn't work that way Don't leave me here alone

I'll do what I can to be a confident wreck Can't feel this way forever, I mean There wasn't any way for anyone to settle in You made a slow disaster out of me There's a radiant darkness upon us But I don't want you to worry I was careful but nothing is harmless Baby, you better hurry