I'm Back!!

Hey Write.as. It's been a while, hasn't it? I haven't posted in a long time. I'm still here, though, and still doing occult shit. I've just not posted about it because its kind of been all over the place, which I guess is normal for a Chaos Mage.

I've dipped my hand into a bunch of different occult pies since I last posted, from ceremonial magic to draconic paganism, and have finally come up with what I think is my own “style” of magic. Really, no two chaos mages end up doing things the same way, I think. Just compare the notorious Archtraitor Bluefluke to Gordon White, or even Gordon White to Peter Carroll, the “founder” of chaos magic, if it can be said to have a founder.

My style ended up being a pared down, highly personalized form of magic in which I took concepts such as “banishing,” “sigilization” and “invocation” and looked for the commonalities between the sources of the western magical tradition. It is still evolving and changing, as all things in my life tend to do. But I feel like I'm at least beginning to make magic on my own terms instead of copying those who came before me. Its not a road I recommend for everyone. Certainly it is a lot more dangerous to not follow an existing tradition or form. But it can also be very freeing and rewarding, as it doesn't require you to subscribe to anyone's particular metaphysics and leaves you free to figure out which metaphysical relationships suit you.

Having said all this, I think some of the stuff I've learned along the way would be very helpful to anyone looking to take a stab at challenging consensus reality (which is really what occultism is all about). So for the next few blog posts I'm going to start by breaking down my theories about magic and the occult, giving you a ground up view of what I've learned and what you can get by adding little magic to your life. I hope you'll tune in for what I've got to say, because I've been on a wild trip and I've seen some shit.