In Which I Lament How Uninformed I Am

I know what I Like
And I like what I know
— Genesis

I need to play more games.

Look, I'm trying ok? We all know I've got too many hobbies, I'm self-centered, lazy, and I'm stuck in my own silo.

The Core Problem

A common adage is that to be a good writer you have to be a good reader. There are a lot of reasons to follow this advice.

And here's the thing. Like just about everything I talk about here, it overlaps art, writing, and game design all at the same time.

But I don't do that. Not much. Not enough, at the very least. I don't read many new games, and I don't hear about many new games very often.

It really bothers me, too. I do sort of miss the days when I was young and naive and designing games was fun. People do say that you should never do what you love as your job. Which is exactly what I'm doing right now. And maybe that's part of the problem: I may be putting too much stress on myself to be better than I can be at the moment. But what's the point of not wanting to improve?

What I'm Trying To Do

Anyway, I'm sad that I don't know more stuff. I'm trying to listen though.


#gamedesign #reference #creativeanxiety


I'm Joe Bush and I design games as Voidspiral Entertainment. Did you like the article? Hit me up on tabletop.social or twitter, or you can support me on Patreon.