Attach to Process

Blazor

There was a bug on my Write.as Archive Page Generator web app. Instead of creating URLs with the correct alias in there, for instance https://write.as/dino/blog-post-title, it was hard-coding the word alias, like https://write.as/alias/blog-post-title.

It was an easy fix, though it wasn't the web app that was broken, but the API that it was calling. I mentioned in a previous post, that I was working on an API to power my Blazor WASM apps. The API is functional, it's out there on the internet, running as an Azure App Service. And it's the one with the bug that I just fixed a few hours ago.

So, the Write.as Archive Page Generator should be working correctly now. You no longer need to do a “search and replace” on the output to correct the URLs.

Tags: #Blazor #WriteAs

Discuss... or leave a comment below.

My Write.as Archive Page Generator is back up and running. I've already updated the Archive pages for my other blogs. It seems to be working fine. Please give it a try and let me know if you run into any issues with it.

I did notice, during my testing, that it can fail on blogs with a huge number of posts. That's mainly because the API call times out at like the 1.7 minute mark. I'll see if I can fix that in the future. But for now, just getting the archive page generator working is a win. So I'll call it a day.

Tags: #Blazor #WriteAs

Discuss... or leave a comment below.

Due to the rate-limiting feature that the Write.as team introduced into their API, a number of my Blazor WASM apps, like the WriteFreely Archive Page Generator I created, have stopped working. All of the Write.as related Blazor WASM apps I created, use the WriteAs.Net client/wrapper library that I wrote. And it is actually this client/wrapper library that is running into the rate-limiting problem.

But, as Matt mentioned here, a solution is in place through the use of Application keys.

I've already updated the WriteAs.Net client to make use of Application keys. But before I release the latest version, I also want to give it some caching abilities. That's what I'm working on and testing right now in my spare time. Once that's done, I'll publish the latest version of the WriteAs.Net client to Nuget.

After that, I plan to get the WriteFreely Archive Page Generator working once again. Then I'll work on getting the Search app for my journal working as well.

Tags: #Blazor #WriteAs #WriteAsNet

Discuss... or leave a comment below.

Finished work on the WriteFreely Archive Page Generator Blazor app. While it does say WriteFreely, you can still pass in Write.as as the instance name and your Write.as alias, and it will work just the same.

Tags: #AspDotNet #Blazor #WriteAs

Discuss... or leave a comment below.

While working on a Blazor WASM project last week, I noticed that no matter what changes I make to the index.html and app.css files, they were not reflected whenever I open up the site on IIS Express. It turns out to be a caching issue. All I needed to do, was hit CTRL + F5 after the site loads, and it will pull in my changes.

Tags: #AspDotNet #Blazor

Discuss... or leave a comment below.

A WriteFreely user recently got in touch with me, asking if I could modify the Write.as Archive Page Generator app, to make it work with WriteFreely instances. I spent some time with it last week and I ran into a snag. I'm getting this TypeError: Failed to fetch JavaScript error whenever it tries to fetch data from the WriteFreely instance I'm testing.

When I try getting posts from a Write.as blog using a Blazor WASM app, it works. When I try getting posts from a WriteFreely instance blog, using the Blazor WASM app, it won't work. But when I try getting posts from a WriteFreely instance blog, using a .NET Core console app that uses the WriteAs.NET library I wrote, the same library that the Blazor WASM app uses, it works. Something weird is going on.

My research into the issue indicates a possible limitation with WebAssembly apps. There must be some security setting on the WriteFreely instance I'm testing, that's blocking my Blazor WASM requests. The Write.as API is obviously not blocking my requests, so something is going on with that WriteFreely instance.

I dug into it some more and found that it is a CORS related issue. But at this point, there's nothing else I could on my end to fix it. I created a thread on discuss.write.as to talk about it.

Tags: #Blazor #JavaScript #WebAssembly

Discuss... or leave a comment below.

Update 4/23/2021: The write.as team has introduced some rate-limiting features on their API to combat spam bots. That stopped this Glitch app and my other Blazor WASM apps from working.

Was supposed to create an “Unpopular Posts” Blazor WASM app, but ended up creating the opposite. Anyway, I managed to make the app flexible by having it use query string parameters. That means that you can use the app and embed it into your own Write.as page/site. Just follow the instructions in the readme.

Link: Write.as Popular Posts – Blazor WASM App

Tags: #AspDotNet #Blazor

Discuss... or leave a comment below.

Was playing around with Blazor and created this site. It is a static site that has web apps written in C# instead of Javascript. Why? Because with Blazor, you can.

Next step is figuring out how I can embed Blazor apps.

Tags: #AspDotNet #Blazor #DotNetCore

Discuss... or leave a comment below.