Another Week

Here starts another week, and it's going pretty well. I'm awake, I'm at work, I'm caffeinated. Listening to some Weezer.

Of course, in the back of my mind, I'm thinking: this week will be just like any other week, nothing special, 7 days closer to the grave. Pretty morbid, but that's kind of the feeling I get.

My wife thinks I need to practice more gratitude for what I have. I'm definitely aware of all the research out there that states that gratitude is a major component of happiness. Not that I'm really that unhappy, but still.

I offered to work more on the volunteer project that I spent six months on last year. Mostly just because it was between that and finding another volunteer project. I had actually planned to find some open source project that I could contribute significantly to, but that's always a problem. It's very hard to find a project that: a) I use, b) needs help in the skillsets I can provide, and c) is actively looking for contributors. I think that first one is something that many people who want to contribute to open source overlook. Is there really a point in contributing to a project that you yourself don't even use? How will you even value your own contributions?

I'm actually thinking of creating some kind of blogging software that allows users to keep a local blog, then one-click publish it to Netlify or some other platform (Neocities?). Preferably with Electron, so that it wouldn't require any command line knowledge. I don't know, I think I need to explore the problem space more. If you want to edit your blog from any computer, isn't that just a web app that handles the blog? Wouldn't having a local version as the master copy be more limiting? I feel like a major part of this use case is that someone wants to keep control over their blog, over their information and data, for one reason or another.

The real question is, is it possible to build a web app in Node.js and then deploy it as an Electron app? So you could have a (self?) hosted version of the blogging software as well as a local version, or one, or the other.