More about blogging

I never really blogged much when it was popular, in the 2000s. And I continue to not really blog much to this day, so not much has changed in that regard. But I've always had this desire to blog. It's like my vague desire to use a Zettelkasten, even though I don't have much of anything to take notes about.

Nowadays, I've discovered the Gemini protocol which claims to not be trying to replace Gopher or the Web, but seems to strike an interesting middle ground between them. It's kind of an improved Gopher with more modernized semantics.

I actually have created one of the first 50 Gemini sites in existence, gemini://gem.bestalbumsintheuniverse.com. This is the Gemini version of my bestalbumsintheuniverse.com project, the goal of which is exactly what it says on the tin. I feel a bit of pride about this, that “hipster” feeling of I knew about it before it was cool. But there's also another feeling, that of getting to see what Gemini turns into eventually, to watch its evolution from near the beginning.

All this leads back to blogging because a lot of the people who run Gemini spaces like to write blogs. Or really they like to write phlogs, which are Gopher Logs (blog being a Web Log). And some of them write Gemini logs as well. It's a whole small universe of people giving status updates and the like, and it's pretty interesting to just do a random walk across some of the pages and see what you find.

I want to contribute to this, of course, but as I've lamented in my previous blogs about blogging, I just don't have that much to talk about on a weekly basis without it getting very personal and mundane.