String Us Together – Excerpt 2

Six leads the way down the left corridor, the other three trailing behind.

Two Do you think we'll all meet again inside of the maze?

Seven There would be no point to these strings if we did not, so we can assume that we will.

Six It's not likely we'll meet as a whole group again, but Seven's right—we'd have to meet at some point.

Six It's kind of impossible to know the specifics until we get in there.

Two I'm kind of unimpressed with this experiment.

Seven I don't think that it was made to impress you. However, I think I understand your meaning.

Two nods.

Two Many experiments require keeping the subjects in the dark, but it doesn't really make sense to keep this much from us.

Two They want us to take a strategic approach, and use these strings to defeat the other participants. But how can we do that if we don't have any information about the future?

Six You've got a point there, but something tells me there's more to it than that.

Seven We cannot know what the test givers' true intentions are. We have no choice but to go along with their instructions.

Five It's true... There's nothing we can do.

Two sighs loudly.

Two You're right, all we can do is play.

Two I hate this shitty game already.

Six laughs.

Six What reason would you have to like it?

Six But as long as we can't remember why we're here or where we came from, we just have to deal with it.

Two Hm.

Six Anyway, like it or not, this door is yours.

They reach the corner where the “2” door is.

Two So it would seem.

Six I trust you can handle yourself here?

Two Nothing's going to happen until everyone gets to their doors. I think I can manage.

She steps up to her door and looks at it as though there's information to be gleaned.

Six We'll move on then.

Two only nods in response.

Seven We should go. I do not know how much time remains.

Six I doubt we have to worry. Even if they said ten minutes, I don't think they'll start it until we're all in place.

Five I don't really want to test it...

Seven He is right, we do not know if there is a punishment for tardiness.

Six Fair enough.

Five L-let's go.

They continue on past Two's door.