XMPP

So I could perhaps maybe have been a little bit wrong about being angry about the closed protocols I've been talking about. As I read comments on Slack's/Google's/Facebook's/Fastmail's shuttering of XMPP the takeaway I get is that XMPP has had problems. Moxie from Signal AFAIK has confirmed that.

I always feel like a huge asshole when I criticize anyone. Feels like I should be the one being better. And that may well be true. There's a little voice in my head telling me “No, you stupid IDIOT, you've got it all wrong because of xyz reason”.

I'm sorry.

Is truly federated chat possible? I suppose it must be. I'm sure the big platforms don't mind the lockin.

I do want a peaceful world where everyone likes everyone. But certain behavior is bad, of course, and people are jerks sometimes. I'd rather be wrong about certain details in the end, I suppose, than say nothing.

I think one thing you can do to avoid anger at the abusive internet is to embrace FOSS, align oneself ideologically with certain movements. In other words just like, embrace the positive in life generally and not accentuate the negative.

Don't know what I'm trying to say, really.

Comment functionality on my posts are coming soon, looked into it a bit today and couldn't figure it out... but soon!