Film Feature: Mary and Max (2009)

Mary and Max (2009)

This Australian “clay-figure” animation film focuses on two characters which you already know the names of, as they’re literally on the title-Mary and Max, whose lives will not at all intersect if not for our little Mary’s curiosity. The film represents Mary’s world in brown while Max’s world was represented in black and white, which struck me quite interesting.

The movie accurately depicts through Max how Asperger’s Syndrome affects people which totally deserves a big round of applause because it was informative and did not sensationalize it. Through Max, the audience were able to get a grasp on how people diagnosed with this mental illness deal with their anxiety attacks and how they really think about themselves and other people. While every person has their own thoughts and their own ways, the movie can be used as a reference as it approached things in a realistic way. On the other side of the the movie, how certain events and words affect people at an early age while they grow up was depicted through Mary.

As the movie progress, I actually started forming a hunch that something will happen so I already assumed the worst and yet, I still lost it when it reached the climax. I just cried so hard I didn't have any tissue to pull out. Good thing I was all alone that night. Funny how a “clay-figure” can make someone ugly cry until the movie reaches its end.

This is a must-watch for me and I will never get tired of telling people about this movie.

#Film #FilmFeature #Animated