Series Feature: Yankee-kun to Megane-chan (2010)

Image: Yankee-kun to Megane-chan (2010)

This 2010 Japanese drama (wow, it's been 10 years already?) involves Daichi, a yankee (a delinquent) who got mistaken for being the legendary yankee called Hurricane Ada after an incident in the past and Ada, the megane girl (a girl wearing glasses) , who concealed her past as the real Hurricane Ada by being the class president.

Mistaken as the legendary yankee, Daichi always find himself in a fight until one day, Ada showed up and helped him. After that, Daichi unexpectedly got caught up on Ada's business, to the point that he even got appointed as the vice-president of the student council. The series highlights the importance of family and friendship. If you're easily moved, you better have your handkerchief right beside you. Of course, there is romance involved. This is a rom-com after all. I can say is that, the romance is pretty laidback which is good, at least for me, because I didn't have to force myself to sit through cringe-worthy scenes. In fact, I actually enjoyed the romance part! I guess it's because it's not your typical shoujo drama where the female MC can't do anything else but cry.

When you watch Yankee-kun to Megane-chan, you'll feel like you're watching the anime series because of the way they exaggerate their expressions, in a funny way. Some may find it cringe-y if they haven't watched any anime turned live action before but it's tolerable so I suggest you still give it a chance. It's really fun and funny as well. I'm sure you won't regret it.

There is one complain though. They should've done another season where they focus more on the romance side. The ending was satisfying but my brain was literally looking for more romance. Still, this series sits at the top of my list and I'll never get tired of recommending this one. Trust me. This is pure gold.

#SeriesFeature #Japanese