Travel! – Should I Stay Or Where To Go Now? (And A Papaya Story)

Dear Coilers, I’m not a person with mental illness (at least I think I’m not) but as this COVID-19 nonsense persistently refuses to end, I think I’m becoming aware of what depression could be like.

It’s been over a year now since I’ve traveled abroad. It’s awfully long time. I’m not sure how much more I’d be able to resist before I end in the institution.

It mostly isn’t the fact that I haven’t exit Croatia but the fact that the choices are unbelievably limited.

At the moment there are just few countries on our planet which don’t harass tourists. Tanzania 🇹🇿 and probably still Mexico 🇲🇽. That’s about it.

There are maybe some other too but those two are “just come and enjoy” type of paradise.

Freedom of movement, mobility rights, or the right to travel is a human rights concept encompassing the right of individuals to travel from place to place within the territory of a country, and to leave the country and return to it. The right includes not only visiting places, but changing the place where the individual resides or works.

Such a right is provided in the constitutions of numerous states, and in documents reflecting norms of international law. For example, Article 13 of theUniversal Declaration of Human Rights asserts that:

"Everyone has the right to freedom of movement and residence within the borders of each state."

"Everyone has the right to leave any country, including his own, and to return to his country."

But since 2020 our constitutional and human rights are worth less than Iranian Rial, even worth less than a word given by a Serb!

The greatest value, freedom, is just an outworn phrase from the past. From the normal times which we thought were abnormal.

I’m researching for days now, the only destination which is an option for me is Tanzania. But I’m not sure about it. Honestly, I haven’t planned visiting it in near future.

I do want to climb Kilimanjaro, poach in Serengeti and rumble around Zanzibar, I do want to eat fresh pawpaw on a sunny Dar es Salaam morning but... I donno... (OK, photo safari, not poaching)

Some will say that I live in one of the top tourist destinations country and should be thankful for all the options I have within it but that’s just an excuse from admitting the real problem we all face these days.

We are literally LOCKED. Like in prison.

Foucault was right! Everything is prison. Even if governments tell you it’s for your own protection and safety it’s still a prison! – Thomas Jefferson

Unfortunately things will not get any better soon. I will not get any better either. At least not until we get rid of every covidiot who is praising their own imprisonment.

Thanks for reading,

Srdan

Continue reading with a Coil membership.