Heading for two pre-trial hearings and two preliminaries in two days. Potentially, four pre-trials, depending upon how the pleas pan out. Guess I'll soon see what kinda stance The People's Prosecutor takes. My silent bets are on continuances. A minor atmospheric river storm's already blown in. Timing's everything. I'm not-so-secretly kinda liking being stuck here, for the time being.

Christmas tree is sparkling. It's as much decorating as I typically do. Can't stand tinsel. Last of my Christmas-related orders placed, today. Favored non big corporates, this year. Opted for recycled newsprint wrapping paper/ribbons and salvaged, sentimental tree ornaments. Such subdued simplicity is surprisingly refreshing. I'm still pondering purchasing shoes. I also have flights and hotel reservations to book for some scheduled, non-holiday related travel in early January. Bright lights, big city. My indifferent, highly spoiled, little critters will be needing themselves a sitter. A novel experiment in courtesy and co-operation for all involved.

Meanwhile, mentally, I'm wiped out. Most of my day engaged in telephone tag, putting out various escalating fires. I had to get insistent,at one point. Rarely rude. Pesistence pays off, though. So I'm reliably informed.