Evening

Darkness veils the sky vault in emptiness. The vacuum suits me tightly, like a membrane of flesh. Unidentifiable corpses occupy the intimate space. Death is my neighbor; it watches over me, but it must not have me.

The stars have always been there, and they will outlast me. I will hold a record in the distant bodies that illuminate the world. The ground is wherever I go, and I must return to it. Dust ages dust, and so it survives.

Something is changing... A dense mist forms around me. My intuition tells me I have been here before. The unsettling nostalgia evokes a surge of unyielding motivation. A pale light beckons, and I reach forward.

I am what I become. I always change, and whether or not I acknowledge that I do changes me more. Whatever time I call the beginning becomes my genesis. When my story is complete, it will be etched in stone forever.

Morning

The rising sun brands its image on the shifting surface of the waters. Flashing neon lights parade about and excite the air. I rise with the sun and face west. Not looking back, I begin to walk.

Every star twinkles, but only the brightest stars are visible. If I look to the sun, then I will know light from dark. There is only one sun, and the pale one, who testifies to this truth. Surely the sun will rise again tomorrow.

A dragon awakens on a mountaintop in the East. As soon as it opens its mouth to speak, smoke comes out and fills the sky with clouds, scattering the light. Its face was red, with yellow wings and blue legs. Curled up in its tail are three newborn stars.

The sun is overhead and the air is warm, but the ground remains cool in some spots. Animals hide in the dense foliage, where no light reaches. The bringer, the bearer, the witness, and the messenger are sending light into the world. Everyone with eyes will seek the light, but not everyone will remain in it.

Sunset

A creeping shade evidences the sun's early departure. The afternoon glow decays to a simmering orange. The waters release some stored warmth into the mist. The wind kicks up a storm, and rain falls upon the surface of the Earth.

What light? I love the light, yet I am in the dark. How long must I endure? Send for me soon, because I am lost without you.

He comes to you in your hour of need to offer a sense of direction. Should you look to your compass, he already has you. Be vigilant and remember that pale light. Darkness lies ahead.

Daylight's end approaches, but tomorrow will be brighter. I put my faith in the light because it is always there. Beware of those wielding torchlight. Everyone is born far from from the light, but willful residence in the darkness is the birthplace of evil.

Twilight

Familiar starlight pierces through the thick layers of clouds. Moonlight is reduced to moonbeams, softly illuminating the waters below. Shadows of those flying overhead can be spotted on the surface, but no birdsong can be heard. No birds are singing, because they know what must soon come.

Before he went to sleep that night, the King had sent some servants to hold the gates open in order to allow the light to come through in the morning. But, as he rose from slumber, he discovered that the world had lost its color. He concluded that he must be dreaming, recalling the rainbow he saw yesterday. With that image in mind, he settled back into an unsteady sleep.

Day and night are independent of the sun's arrival and departure. I am asleep, so it must be night. When I wake up, it will still be night because my eyes have not known day. Evening heralds in the morning, but nothing precedes the evening.

The messenger wears a plain white cloak, like a bed sheet. Everyone hears him when he speaks, though some continue to deny his message because they know who sent him. He will make witnesses of them; they will be called witnesses, not believers. To all believers, who he loves, he offers his father's blessing, so that when the day breaks, they will praise His name, the one who was, is, and is to come...