Your Turn to Yell

“Silence is Golden”, they say. They're right, of course. Silence is the key to every problem, as well as to every proposed solution. Arguing won't solve problems; not directly, anyhow. So what will? Listen, you say. And you yell, a long, painful moan. I sit, and you scream. I listen while you lament. It's a powerful dynamic, this. I learn your hardships, and you- well, I don't know what you do, but it's dramatic. You shout, and I sympathize. You accuse, and I admit. Is it my turn yet?

Finally, you come to the end of your conversation. A question burns in my belly, though I dare not ask it. You leave, and take with you a bundle of anger. I leave too, adding yours to my collection. May I talk now? No, not yet. You see, to talk I need a listener. My door is open; you may vent any time you please. Perhaps, one day, you will open yours.