Dry November: Day 14

Today I retrieved the notebook I lost yesterday. A restaurant rang me and said that they had found it. It proves it's a good idea to put one‘s contact details into notebooks, and to request their return with a smiley face. I read the notes contained while waiting for an acquaintance. I’d speculated that my equanimity about losing it came from its relative shortness and the fact that I hadn't re-read it previously, and therefore had not become attached to its contents yet. This was wrong; nothing in it was worth remembering.

After fourteen days dry, I'm feeling suspiciously fantastic. It would be churlish not to give credit to my sobriety, though my diet and exercise have also been above average. I've been sleeping well and in a positive mood most days. As I'm not working, I'm also not subject to the physical constraints and psychological violence inflicted by certain offices. That's not to say I haven't been busy. Besides writing I have been applying for jobs, applying myself to figuring out what I'm doing next. It's an awkward time to look for jobs in London as I'll be leaving for California for Christmas, though I suppose it‘s not exactly prime hiring time anywhere. Even interviews seem not to have dampened my spirits, strangely enough. Maybe it takes two weeks dry to feel great, and I rarely got this far previously.

I‘ve cleaned up Day 12's entry, included images, and posted it on Medium. I was pleased that Rosie Kay liked what I wrote. Likewise for the General Magic documentary who somehow found my post on Day 10 and responded. I plan to turn that one into a standalone post too. It feels good to get responses. I've always found Twitter a bit like speaking into the void; I've somehow never succeeded in joining the discourse. So I really appreciate the acknowledgement. Writing here every day had also sometimes seemed like an exercise in solitude, as I suppose writing always is. On the other hand, it has served its purpose by strengthening my resolve. Without semi-public responsibility, I might have succumbed to temptation. So thank you for reading and keeping me accountable. I‘d also love to hear from you on facebook, twitter, medium, mastodon, or wherever else you happen to find me.

← Day 13Day 15 →