Dry November: Day 20

Two-thirds of the way through the month. I spent the past three hours in a pub, conveniently one of the closest to my house, for an Effective Altruism social. The people in attendance were strikingly intelligent, thoughtful, and engaged, as I usually find them to be, and I greatly enjoyed their company. Some there had been involved at uni but not known it was such a thing in London, or had found out about EA itself through its excellent career guide, called 80,000 Hours, which you should check out.

Topics included:

Otherwise today was spent lifting before my gym begins refurbishment tomorrow, listening to Steven Pinker's The Sense of Style, reading a summary of the First World War, speaking to my mother and doing some Christmas planning, reading Empires of the Word, and, for some reason, attempting to translate part of Nietzsche's Also sprach Zarathustra before seeing 2001 tomorrow.

Until then...

← Day 19Day 21 →