Growing peppers

(image of a Jalapeno pepper plant)

Why am I growing peppers?

I just wanted to grow something edible.

Through some online research, I figured peppers are pretty cool; they are pretty easy to grow, they self-polinate, requires little space, are productive, and takes about 3 or 4 months from seedling to fruit. I also live in great pepper-growing climate. So why not!

I enjoy spicy food, and so I also plan on making some hot sauce and pickled peppers.

Peppers are make great ornamental plants around the windowsill! I have a variegated jigsaw pepper plant. And an ornamental black pepper plant that look as good, if not better than flowers.

A lot of hobbyists grow peppers to hit novelty high-scoville scores; however, I'm not really specifically interested in the (generally inedible) superhots (think: award-winning Carolina Reapers, Ghost Pepper, etc.).

Lastly, this project serves as a symbol of continuous but slow growth. It was immensely motivating seeing my seeds grow up to become fruit-bearing plants.

Through growing peppers, I also learned a lot about growing plants in general.

Trials and tribulations of a bedroom farmer

(image shows pepper plant with broad mite infestation.) * Bad soil and over-watering. Some people recommend that you should water mature plants twice a week, but due to the absorbant soil, I should have only watered once a week. I should use a higher-quality looser soil and water less. Over-watering plus the overall lack of indoor air-circulation results in plant edema. * Caring too much. I have consumed tens if not hundreds of hours of pepper content on youtube. There are videos on variables affecting germination rates, videos on different fertilizers, videos on . However, in the end, it really doesn't matter that much; mother nature has a way of making it happen. I got some edema and funal gnats, but as long as the big issues are taken care of, the peppers will burgeon just fine over time.

Varieties and sharing

Some varieties I grew: Jalapeno, Cayenne, Jimmy Nardeloo, Tabasco, Black Pearl, Cayenetta, Santaka, Fish, Jigsaw.

Plus some cherry tomatoes.

Too many of my seeds propogated and I had too little space, so I ended up sharing a lot of my seeds to friends.

Some photos

(image shows flowering cayenne plant)

(image shows leaves of a jigsaw pepper)

(image shows some sprouted plants I’m giving away)

(image of sprouted pepper varieties — I ended up giving most of these away)

Future green thumb projects

I grew peppers at a really awkward time. I left the peppers in cold nights in the hallway of my apartment for 3 weeks. I think that stunted the growth. Despite being relatively hands-off, they still require a lot of attention. If I do grow, it will be a few months later and I will time it to be in the spring/summer months.

I think in the future, I will pick some more prolific and edible varieties. I will still choose to grow non-superhots. I think I also prefer larger containers. Perhaps a lemon drop or tangerine ahi. Less tabasco, more jalapeno. Less fish, more cayennetta.

The tomato plant (that I grew from a cherry tomato I got from a salad) also grew immensely quickly. I may want to explore some non-pepper options, perhaps some flowers or some herbs.