22

Hands of Mind

What I’ve written so far is writing Even if nothing else, it’s writing I’ve written I’ve written about it here, about life and other things I’ve thought and seen About what I’m trying to figure out, about staying alive, not giving up I’ve written it because if I don’t it only exists in my head And I would like it to exist in the world Because I have thought a lot about the things I’ve written and I’ve had time to think about them because I have given myself time, above everything else And the money-work I do doesn’t require my mind Just tuning my hands once in a while, a kind of relaxed attention And the mind can wander and look around Smell and taste from memory Finding old things Turning up interesting stuff And then use the hands to write it out, because that’s what matters Not that it stays inside, but that these thoughts escape into the world where they can live in the wild Take root in other minds, move other hands in other ways Make bodies go outside, dig in dirt, smell soil, make tea from plants Live in the woods Make hands and bodies dance together, hold each other, realize their beauty Realize their beauty Realize their beauty and their simple truth