bsmall2 Learning Racket

IaR

A Theodorus spiral with plot instead of turtles. The coding went quickly because it was easy to translate into Racket the math from Python code.

Spiral Plot with Vectors

Read more...

Last week's talk about a local poet reminded me of I.A. Richards. I read that he used to put a poem on a slide up before large groups of people. William Empson may have written a poem about the slides.

Yeats King and No King slide

I like the simple slides, maybe I'll use them to contemplate poetry while staring at a screen. On the other hand commercial presentation software ( PP ) seems too flashy.

Yeats The Witch Slide

The loud colors distract from contemplation on the poem. If putting poems up on a screen can be constructive, a simple way to see simple slides may be useful.

Using DrRacket to show poems in the tradition of I.A. Richards seems appropriate. As learners of poetry and programming we want grounds to approach an “overwhelming sense of correctness” (fn:1) ... to reach a judgment that we can have confidence with.

Read more...