My last night with Elisa

My new life began days ago when parted from Elisa.

I met Elisa in school when I was a kid and I indeed felt something for her. She was the friend everybody wished to have, the one who made you smile in the needing moment. The one who made you forget the pain. I'm not amazed that everybody wish to be with her. But I was a special case, because without knowing what love was, we spent the breaks together.

Then the adolescence separated us. She to her studies, me to mine. I don't know how she went through, but in my case friendships lasted until holidays. I had to sort out the best I could. Just buddies and nothing else. But I never forgot her. Even sometimes I dreamed of her, beyond wanting to see her again.

By sheer luck I came upon Laura, a school fellow. We talked about all that we could talk and she even invited me to a meeting in her house. There I met other many friends I didn't knew and other I knew but I didn't see them for a long time. It was a pleasant meeting and Laura asked my number in the case she felt like doing another meeting like that one.

Time passed and suddenly, surprise. A text message comes from an unknown number mentioning my name and inviting me to his birthday. I called that number and I got shocked. It was Elisa, who told me where and when she was going to do her birthday party. We got happy to know that we both were born on the same day and I told her that I was going to be there with pleasure. As a last thing she told me to bring a poetry book because she was a poetry passionate and for this occasion we were going to do a circle where the guests would recite poems.

The fateful day came. Elisa received me with such a strong hug that I never felt in years, and I felt I was in heaven. In that moment Laura comes in and for my surprise they salute kissing each other. I stared at them shocked and Elisa explained me that they were a couple since some months ago. I congratulated her on the outside, but within I felt like dying.

When the poetry circle began, she started reciting the most romantic verses that Garcia Lorca could ever wrote and I felt stabs with every word. I thought for myself that if I didn't die that night I wouldn't die at all.

Other friends passed reciting what they wanted, Becquer, Shakespeare, the Spanish Romancero, Benedetti, etc. And then my turn came. I stood in the center searching for a poem, but all of them were painful to recite for me.......until I came upon one. One I felt more than anybody and suited me. One of Rafael de Leon.

I simply vented with it. I even altered without intention the poem saying “Mas como es rica tu dueña” (But as your owner is rich, but using the feminine of owner), knowing that it was a poem a man recited to a woman. I had a standing ovation and Elisa held me as strong as when I came there, praising the feeling I put in the recitation. I thanked her gesture and told her that she was charming too when she recited those verses of Lorca. In that moment I had a clear conscience and I enjoyed the birthday like if it was mine (bah, it was my birthday too, but I didn't celebrate it since a long time).

When I was about to leave, she as a good friend told me that we could have a meeting with Laura and the others. I invented an excuse that I would go on vacations. We gave each other a farewell hug and I left in a cab.

I felt I couldn't hold my tears when the cabdriver turned on the radio. Three toxic songs sounded. One by The Cure, another by Sonia Rivas, and to make matters worse, Nati Mistral reciting the same poem I recited.........that night with Elisa when I swore it would be the last.

Now I'm so scared of text messages.