October 2021 mini poems

Last October, I set a vague intention to write a few short poems (length ≤ 5 lines), in the spirit of inktober and other daily challenges. Some days I used the inktober prompts, some days I did my own thing, mostly I didn't write at all for one reason or another.

Crystal

Content notes: body horror

Expand / Collapse My thick shoes crunched on crystal floor. The ceiling glowed with eerie light. I looked down at translucent hands, my fingers hard as crystal wall.

Suit

Kindness doesn't suit you. I can tell, by the way your muscles tense as if it's a great effort not to shout. Kindness doesn't suit you, but I'm glad you're trying anyway.

Vessel

I have never been on a spaceship before. So why does it feel so familiar? I ask where am I? The ship says welcome home.

The leaves fell upwards

The leaves fell upwards this year. Stones fell next, then bins, cars. Anything not nailed down drifted lazily into the sky. We clung to branches and wondered how long it would last.

Spirit

The spirit walked alongside the couple in the park. It laughed when they laughed, gently teased the man, and sighed when it got interrupted again. If it tried, it could almost believe they knew it was there.

Fan

It's windy outside. I make myself small and bob in the breeze of the fan.

Synaesthesia

I black out the windows and surround myself with things that make me feel bright

Splat

I threw a ball of energy, caught it as it bounced off the wall, threw it again. My cat jumped on my lap and I scratched her chin, the forgotten energy splatting on the floor.

#poetry