[microfiction] The Witch Of The Dark Woods

“Beware the witch of the dark woods,” the villagers warned me as I grew up. When I couldn't take their words and actions any more, I fled to the woods. Soon, dusk fell and the temperature started to drop, and I found myself hopelessly lost. As I searched fruitlessly for shelter, shivering, I suddenly became aware of the old woman watching me. I hadn't noticed her approach. She smiled, and I instantly felt calmer. She invited me back to her house, and with no other option, I accepted. We had a great evening full of food and laughter. I'd never slept as well as I did that night. In the morning, she pointed me onto the path back to the village. The last thing she said, as she waved me off, was a warning. “Beware the villagers.”


This was written for a competition run by @MythicPicnic on Twitter

#microfiction