[poem] Three Years

Content note: needle mention

I jokingly call it a “houseiversary”. It's like a birthday or a wedding anniversary, except it's for when I last left the house, and no one's ever given me a present for it.

It means I noticed it was October, And that made me think of - oh, so long ago – I don't even remember what I was doing but I think it involved loud car rides and needles in my arm. Did I know it would be the last time? Did anyone tell me?

It means I wonder what's out there, how it's changed, how I've changed, how much of what I remember is real. What I've forgotten. There could be dragons roaming the streets for all I know.

It means I think of other people, what they meant to me, what they could have meant, and whether they think of me from time to time. Whether they ever truly existed at all.

It means I dream of one day leaving, again - of hatching a dragon of my own and raising it and waiting until it grows strong enough to lift me into the sky and away.

#poetry #mecfs