The Gift of Giving

Not everyone has the luxuy to give gifts to anyone but to anyone who has you'd be surprised that it's more than just losing what you have but it's gaining something more than what meets the eye.

Last Thursday I was out to run errands when I got parched. I'm not particularly sure if I am sick or I'm just tired of extended moving from to and fro but getting the Teavana Hibiscus tea from Starbucks made the effort worthwhile. Now, it may not look like it but I already completed my sticker journal and had redeemed it already. (I'm selling it by the way, but that's for another story.) So, I opted to give it to the old man beside me and lo and behold, he grinned.

“Hijo, would you like to know how special you are?”

While unraveling his promo card he then pointed out he needed only one sticker to complete the promo. I noticed he needed the Christmas drink though and with a hint of disappointment I replied

“Oh, but that's the Christmas drink's section”

Fortunately the barista had the holiday spirit as well.

“It's alright we can consider that.” She butted joining into the joyous occassion placing the last piece of the puzzle in place.

It was such a cheerful moment: For me, the barista and the old man.

If there's anything that I took with me from that place other than the refreshing cold drink it's the thought that we don't need a miracle to be able to give, all it takes is to consider what you need and share what you don't.

P.S. A smile is something you have that you can give for free without losing anything in return.