AN EXPERIMENT ON HAPPINESS

Photo by Edward Dalmulder

Several years ago I did an experiment to see if meditation could make me any happier. On average, I guesstimated that my days were about a seven out of 10. Would meditation nudge it up to a nine or zen-like 10? I wanted to find out.

So the experiment was as follows: every day for 30 days straight I meditated in the morning for an hour. In the evening I gave the day a score out of 10 (10 being a super fantastic day) and a reason for the number.

At the end of the 30 day experiment, I looked at the results. Almost every day was rated a seven, same as before the experiment and before regular meditation. A few days were an eight. There were no nines or 10s.

However, there were two days that stood out. Both were a miserable two out of 10 and both were because of arguments I had with family members (the first time was with my Dad, the second with my daughter).

What I learned from the experiment was surprising and valuable. First, meditation didn’t make me happier. Calmer? Definitely, and that makes meditation worth continuing. But I wouldn't say meditation makes me happy.

My second takeaway is I realized how important good family relations are to me, and how profoundly they affect my mood and outlook on life. Being harmonious with family and friends does make me happier.


Consider subscribing to my newsletter.