Dear Dad,

The day you died was a day I will never forget. Monday September 27th, 2021, was the entire longest day of my life. Momma called that morning and said you wouldn’t make it 24 hours. I booked a plane ticket for that night to fly into Tennessee.

I had left Mr.Charcuterie's house that morning to go home and pack a suitcase, I’ll tell you about Him later. As I was driving on I-75 North, I saw a funeral home progression on the highway, something I’ve never seen before. This fallen hero was also a veteran, just like you. I saw the flag draped over their casket.

I prayed so hard that you would make it until I could get to the hospital. I was expected to land at 10:30pm with a 45 min ride to you.

I got the call from Sissy as I was walking to board my plane. I had such high hopes walking to my gate, my mind told me you would be ok. I couldn’t believe anything else. She said you were gone. I fell to my knees Daddy. I sobbed. I picked myself up because I knew all you would want is for me to get to Momma and be her person now that you were gone. That was the longest 1.5 hour flight I had ever been on. Once Tom had brought me to the hospital, I hugged our favorite woman with all my might. She adored you for 45+ years and I know you did the same. The two of you gave the prime example of love. We never had much, but God we had love.

I was your baby girl Daddy. I was your sidekick all my life. Every childhood memory I have is with you. You were literally my most favorite person in all the universe. I adored the man you were, I prayed for a man who will treat me like you treated Momma and us girls. You never hesitated to take care of your family; you were the ultimate family man. Not only did you care for us so so deeply, but you showed us that you did too. I have never had to go into life wondering if my Daddy loved me or not. I knew, to the deepest part of my core, I knew my Daddy adored me.

I brought your girl home Daddy. I have been doing everything I can to take all the pressure off of her. I need you, but she needs you more. Please show her, like you have shown me, that you’re around. I left the funeral home, a complete mess and I only picked up your empty Urn. As I left the song you danced with me to at my wedding came on. You were the only one who actually wanted to dance with me that day. You spun me around and made me laugh. You have loved me from the bottom of your heart since the day I was born. You have been the only man who has had my back from day one. It did not matter, If I called you were there in anyway you could be.

Dad, you are the prime example of a father, man, husband, and friend. You showed me true love. Not only the true love of a father, but the true love of a husband. You adored my Momma, that was never a question. You showed me how a man should treat me. You somehow made her feel special for more than 45 years.

I picked up your ashes yesterday. Mr.McCarty was a Christian Minister Dad. He treated you like you were his own family. I lost it. I’m sorry, I know you wouldn’t want that and that I need to be the strong one. But you were my Daddy, my Hero, my everything. I should of brought you home alive, not in a box.

I took you to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We went in the river together and talked for a bit. I even almost caught a crawfish! Afterwards we went to a restaurant and went on the sky needled in Gatlinburg. The next morning, I was taking you to Dollywood. You wanted to go to Dollywood soooo bad, you talked about it every time we talked about your trip to Tennessee with Momma. I took you to Dollywood today. We took a picture in front of the Dollywood sign. We also walked through the Dolly Parton museum and I rode on almost all the rollercoasters. You wouldn’t of liked the coasters, but you loved any adventurist things I did. Don’t worry I kept you in a locker haha. <3.

Daddy, what will I do without you? Who will I call? I never even called my husband, I only called you. You were 3700 miles away and I knew you always had the answer.

You were the greatest man to walk this earth. You had so much love and compassion inside of you. You never failed to be a kind, selfless man. Gosh, you didn’t even have to try. Your heart was so pure. I know I’m a woman, but If I can be half the man you were, I’d be so proud.

Don’t worry Dad, I got my shotgun back. And we are going to finish your garage. Also know Momma will be taken care of in everyway that we can. I pray that we can show her enough love to know that you raised us knowing how to love.

You were the best dad a girl could of ever asked for. Thank you for being my Daddy for 30 short years. Thank you for showing me what a man should be. Thank you for showing me how a woman should be treated. Thank you for never leaving me stranded. Thank you for being my person and listening to all my crazy stories. Thank you for ALWAYS supporting my dreams, no matter how insane they may be.

I love you Daddy.