Down The Iksong Hole: 'We had the same eyesight, but now I can't see' (Episode 3)


Hi, please don’t mind me… I’ll probably just waste your time for the next couple of minutes. Well, that is, if you intend to continue reading this pointless/useless analysis 😂 Also, I’m not sure whether anyone has written something based on this before. Still, I’ll just write my version here for the sake of my sanity. I actually planned on making a thread about this on Twitter, but me and my lack of confidence brought us all here.

I wrote this solely based on my observation. I did a bit of research (not a thorough and proper one, though), and it’s purely just for fun. As I said, this is just me over analyzing things, sorry :(


I have been rewatching several eps in the past few days. However, this particular part/point in EP 3 irrevocably captured my attention.

Early in EP 3, where the lacking five were about to have lunch together at Songhwa’s office, this chip of iksong moment caught me. Ikjun was messing around as always, and at one point, he inadvertently played with Songhwa’s eyeglasses. At first, he asked whether her eyesight had gotten worse. She didn’t respond to him then; however, his following statement was a bit ‘striking.’

Ikjun said, “We had the same eyesight, but now I can’t see.” I understand it MAY be pointless or has no particular meaning at all. But from the way I perceived it, there has got to be an analogy to this. 😂 Starting with the ‘eyes.’ The eyes are everything and are an integral part of the body. The eyes see and come along with that; the eye sees what the mind knows, the mind perceives.

It is in the way he said, “we had the same eyesight.” In medical terms, it is referring to the ability to see and the quality of their eyesight. Since the beginning, we know both of them are using eyeglasses to improve their vision. However, there could be something more in particular about this.

Songhwa did respond this time, and she said. “Try removing your contacts.” I know; this is just Songhwa telling him to remove his contact lens for a better sight. She’s very familiar with it. She didn’t even have to ask whether or not he was wearing the contact. A contact lens, in general, has the same function as eyeglasses, helps to correct refractive errors, and performs this function by adding or subtracting focusing power to the eye's cornea and lens (from the web). However, even according to research, dependency on contacts is unhealthy as it may affect the eyes. In short, contact lenses are not recommended for long-run use.

Now, where do we go from here? Figuratively, or in analogy, we can use this to describe the ins and outs of the iksong relationship. We know in the beginning, until half of EP 3, Ikjun is still tied to his status as being married to Hyejeong. “We had the same eyesight” can be interpreted as a way of vision that both of them see from each other. The two have a prolonged history, and since Ikjun got married, things between them have certainly changed ever since. Indirectly, of course, change the way they see each other.

At the beginning of EP 1 alone, Ikjun introduced Songhwa to his son Uju as 'my friend.’ 'Same eyesight' here can literally mean how iksong has instilled a vision and a perception that the relationship between the two is limited to that of a close friend. The same eyesight equals to them being in the same line, looking at the same point with a somewhat similar ability to see. Therefore, ‘sight’ can be referring to their positions that are seen only as friends to one another. Vice versa, Songhwa also limited Ikjun to a best friend, especially with his marital status at the time. Each of them knew where they were supposed to stand, their position, their limitations.

Nonetheless, then Ikjun said, ‘But now I can’t see.’ Not quite sure what this implies; again, it could be just another meaningless line. But to me, it could refer to something more than it seems. Ikjun tried on her glasses and made that particular comment. He was convinced and sure of the sight he was expecting to see, but not anymore. And as we keep on going through EP 3, it begins to unravel in the fullness of time.

The way I see it, EP 3 is really the start of their rising action. After lunch at Songhwa’s office, the following scene pulled us back to a flashback of their karaoke session during college days. What’s interesting is this particular scene where Ikjun sang the line ‘I will only have eyes for you.’ Hahaha! Again, with the eyes… Then some points later, the camera focuses on him, then Songhwa. 😂 As we all know, Ikjun has fallen in love then. And in his eyes, it has always been Songhwa all along.

Oh God, I’m so bad at making this. I’m sorry. 😂 😂 😂

Moving on to the next point now, everything has come to fall into place towards the end. The perfect 'vision' that Ikjun sought and tried to maintain now had been shattered. What he used to believe and see has turned blurry. Ikjun was the one who said, 'Now I can't see,’ and that hinted at the fact now the point of view has changed from his perspective. Now that he has been separated from Hyejeong. Even when she was away, never for once Ikjun thought of ‘seeing’ anyone else. Songhwa was there, but Ikjun knew what and where he has supposed to look then. Hence, with all sudden change of situation, as if a bird free from its cage. Ikjun was free, but at the same time, he was not entirely sure where to fly next.

Going back to the ‘eye’ and ‘sight’ analogy, a study shows that the eyes require some time for adjustment from bright to dark and the other way around. The adaptation will trick the mind into believing the eyes lose sight for a certain period of time before adequately functioning in the next minute. It all happened in a strike of lightning for Ikjun. Doubt filled not only his mind but too his heart. He needed time to adjust for him to be able to see again. The time to adapt itself may vary; however, my over-analyzing self found something interesting on this. The first ‘confession’ he made to Songhwa was during that legendary breakfast scene: ‘Eating with you, have coffee with you, that’s a treat I give myself.’ This particular line of confession happened in Episode 10. Clap your hands if you’re aware, but it took seven steps (seven episode counting from Episode 3) for Ikjun to finally be able to say that.

Right, so, what does that even mean? Seven is the most powerful numbers according to some beliefs. The number seven is the number of completeness and perfection. Seven seas? Seven continents? Seven vertebrae in the neck? NECK? Come on, we all know Songhwa’s problem with her neck, right?! What is more to say about this? 😂

Okay, alright, I know! You’re probably thinking right now, ‘what on earth is this bitch right here talking about with all of these points?’

Then the one and the only answer I can give is; iksong endgame.

Certified, verified, iksong endgame.

Thank you for coming to my Ted Talk.


Look, if you happened to read this… and… none of this does seem to make sense to you. It is totally fine. In fact, I am very sorry for having written such a confusing theory/analogy. Whenever I found an interesting point on a particular iksong scene, I usually just screenshot, type everything down, and talk shit to my friends for hours about it in the chat. I have never written them on an elevated platform and upload them plainly, and publicly such as this one, so fair to say I have zero experience in doing so. However, though, I tried my best to collect my thoughts and have them constructed in the simplest way possible.

I am free, open, and is more than willing to talk about random things about iksong. Whatever that may be, it could be some pointless shits, random facts, a well-rounded theory? Or even crying over the tiniest bit of crumbs? I would be more than happy to do so!

Oh, and please, if you see this, it means you know me well enough to talk to me at random times and cry over iksong together. Let me hear your thoughts on this. Ask me if you don’t understand what the hell I was saying a while ago. Fight me with your theories, enlighten me with your new findings, surprise me with a unique perspective on wherever scene you find interesting. And who knows? Write your own analysis, perhaps? 😂😂😂

To close, I would like to thank you for reading this piece of shit coming straight from my brain dump. If you don’t get it, please feel free to ask me 😂. I hope you had a lovely day!

OH AND, a special thanks and honorable mention to chojeolate, cassie_bey, and hiiucha for their patience in dealing with the noisy chirps of mine whenever I finished rewatching a particular episode and dwell myself in the chaotic world of over-analyzing iksong. 😩🙌😭💕