Torment


-iksong-


'ikjun-ah.' Songhwa said as she gently pressed down Ikjun's hand on to the side of her bed, stopping him from doing what he was before.

'What's wrong? Does it hurt?'

Songhwa shook her head limply, still giving him a prudent smile. Using her upper arm to prop herself, she turned to her side, facing Ikjun.

Ikjun helped her with her movement, fixing the pillow's position to let her rest comfortably.

'What is it?' he stroked her cheeks. 'Tell me.'

She smiled again, but this time, forcing one with tears in her eyes. Ikjun noticed her quivering chin, trembling lips, and her rapid blinking were all enough to indicate how she felt. Ikjun squeezed her hand; at times, he would always come up with the brightest and funniest jokes to ever told, yet his brain could not figure out a single word at the time. He hated himself for that. Ikjun knew that whenever the pain strikes her body and how she tried to endure it every time, Ikjun knew.

'Ikjun-ah, I'm tired.' she said, trembling.

Ikjun's dexterity failed to catch the tears that fell down his cheeks. 'I- I know…. l-let me make the bed again for you, okay? Give me a few minut-'

'No.' tears welled up in Songhwa's eyes. 'You don't understand. I am tired, Ikjun-ah. I really am.'

A great tremor overtook her body, causing Ikjun to dropped everything he was doing and wrapped her arms around her. 'Listen.'

'Chae Songhwa, listen to me.'

Tears raced down Songhwa's cheeks in time when she tried her best to let herself out of his embrace. 'No.. no Ikjun-ah.'

'Listen! Look at me.' Ikjun cupped her cheeks. 'Look at me, Chae Songhwa.'

'Let go of me, Ikjun-ah. I need you to let go of me this time.'

'No. We will get through this, Songhwa-ya. I promise. You will get through this; you must, you have to. And I will be with you, every step of the way.'

'No… I'm tired and sick of everything Ikjun-ah. It hurts. Everything hurts me, Ikjun-ah.'

'I know.' Ikjun fixed his gaze on hers. 'But you are the strongest person I have ever met in my entire life, Songhwa-ya.'

Songhwa lowered her head, letting her emotions rushed through her.

'You are strong, Chae Songhwa. And remember, you're not alone. You were never, and will never be alone. You have me, always. So if there's one thing I could ask of you for the rest of my life, I will only ask for you not to give up.'

'Don't give up, Chae Songhwa.' Ikjun wiped the tears and prevented them from falling off her face.

Ikjun bent on his knees, pressing his palms on Songhwa's before pulling them close to his chest. 'I need you not to give up because I'm not giving up on you either.'

'Ikjun-ah...'

'Even if it hurts, share your pain with me, Songhwa-ya. Hold my hand, don't be scared because I will never let go.'

'We will walk through this, I promise.'

-

Even when I'm down to my last breath.

Even when they say there's nothin' left.

Don't give up on me.