7th January 2021 – the stupidness reigns

Sometimes being a DN is madness. I get my list today and triage it in the usual way. So firstly there is a bit of a swap about and I take on an injection of something called Denusomab, only to find the actual injection is sitting in the pharmacy waiting for someone to collect it – and that someone isn't me. I ring a patient's wife about visiting to change a tracheostomy strap – it takes 2 nurses – to say we'll be there about half 10 – oh no she says, that's too early – my husband won't be up by then, can't you come about midday? Er, I have a big list of people already and don't you know there's a pandemic on – you're sodding lucky we're coming at all and you want to be pissy about what time you'd like us to come? Then another call – need to visit in the morning, not the afternoon and I get ' well D is in the bathroom emptying the stoma – can you come later – no, I can't, I need to come in half an hour, not this afternoon, there's other things we have to do this afternoon – and then when I arrive he leaves me on the cold doorstep for over 5 minutes and when he comes down he says he didn't hear the door bell – we don't know when they're going to be out of earshot of the door bell – we come for their benefit, not ours. He definitely left me there on purpose in the cold knowing I wouldn't leave. And then another chap – was going to come and change a catheter – oh – what time will you be here – answer – not quite sure yet, but this morning sometime – oh actually I don't want you to do it today, can you wait a few weeks – er no – the product is only licenced for 12 weeks and its already been in for 10 so we need to do it next week, not a few weeks. And then – oh hospital transport is picking me up at 7am tomorrow – no the DN cannot visit at 7am – we don't start by then – so its me who phoned the son and ensures he will come in the morning first thing to give some insulin. Please do not 'clap' for the NHS – f'ing hypocrites.